The You of the Future is Worth Meeting

This beautiful work was created by Barbara Close, a professional calligrapher, author and teacher. I love the sentiment and the creative way she brings it to life.  

           All great achievement requires time. I believe everyone has talent. 

Sometimes we get impatient with what we want to accomplish and the amount if time we have to accomplish it. We are excited about an idea and want to see it come to life. So we begin thinking and planning and hoping that we will be able to accomplish it.  And then reality sets it. Maybe we are biting off more than we can chew. Maybe we are reaching to accomplish something beyond our current skill level. Maybe we are silly to think that we can do it and succeed. Or just maybe we are exactly the person to get this thing done, we just need more time. 

We need time to mature, learn and grow into the person who will accomplish this idea. Time is a gift and we need to be patient while it works its magic; the magic is the ability to turn us from who we are into who we are going to be. When I look back on my life I think about all the twists and turns that brought me to my current state – state of mind, state of being, state of purpose – and I would never have imagined that I would end up where I am today. I had hopes and dreams of course, but my current life has exceeded those expectations. I could not see the magic that time would complete over the years. I had to wait and see, be patient and learn all I could along the way. Each time I learned something new my dreams and expectations were broadened. Each time I accomplished something little I was able to expand my horizons, and that new horizon took me one step further. 

There is something you are working towards right now. Something you want to accomplish and fulfill, an idea, a change, a new direction. You may not have the exact skills you need to accomplish it right away, but if you let it time will help you get there. The person you are right now had the idea. That does not mean you are the person to get it done, maybe you need more time to become the person who will get it done. I think that is both exciting and frustrating at the same time. 

So give the you of today a break. Give yoruself more time, and keep dreaming big. The you of the future is worth meeting, you simply have to get through a few more days to get there. 

What do you think - write your thoughts here!

