I spent several hours this evening cleaning up our studio. I cleared off the work table and put down clean, brown paper. With a clear table top and a clean piece of paper, the potential for creativity was endless. So I began work on a new piece, one which I need to finish this weekend. I pulled out all my paper scraps and went to work. I listened to some classic movies while I worked and had a lot of fun creating. Within a few minutes the once clear table was covered with art supplies and the ideas were flowing. 

Later this month I will be attending a workshop out West and we have the opportunity to bring one example of our work. The piece needs to be sixteen by twenty, unframed, and it will be on display all week during the conference. I started this mat weeks ago and took the challenge of the workshop to get it completed. I am not sure what I am going to put in the center, that will come later. 

I have a process for being creative. I need to first be inspired or have a goal. I can find it hard to get moving if I do not have a reason or idea prompting me to action. Creating just for the sake of being creative sounds great, yet I find it challanging. If I do not have a solid idea, it may take me a while to get started. I piddle around until something sparks my thoughts and then the creativity kicks in. Once the idea takes shape, I can work for hours. In fact I find myself in the studio for hours and before I know it I am up way too late. I have to force myself to go to bed, and I look forward to waking up to get working again. 

Creativity can be a fickle mistress. She wants what she wants when she wants it, and nothing else matters. She is not always motivated or may take promoting to get things started. She can drive you crazy or get stuck in the mud. Sometimes she needs help, and sometimes she will keep you up with an idea buzzing around your head. Sometimes she comes to you at the strangest places, or wakes you up from a dream with a fabulous insight. However she arrives, be glad she stays. Run with her, work with her, create with her, get exhausted by her. Let creativity inspire you to another level. 

When was the last time you stayed up late doing something you enjoy? What did it take to get you motivated enough to work without any concept of time? Were you pressured, under a deadline, or behind? Was it something you really wanted to complete, and no matter what it took you were willing to work, work, work? Did you have the idea burning in your head, or did someone else prompt it? Was it for your job, or for yourself? Today I wish for you a moment of pure creativity and inspiration…then let it roll out of you with no concept of time. You and the world will be amazed with what you create. 

