I am attending a calligraphy workshop later this month. Each instructor sent the supply list for their portion of the week, so we want to the art supply store. It is a dangerous place when you have to buy things, sort of like the first day of school. You bought your required things and now wait anxiously for school to begin. The ideas begin bouncing through your brain as the excitement builds. You imagine the amazing things you will learn, the fun people you will meet, and the delight in using your newly sharpened pencils. 

There is something about a new box of colored pencils, a fresh eraser and a blank book of clean, white paper. The potential is extraordinary. The ideas seem to flood your head and fill your sleepless nights with imagination. The thought that something you have not imagined will soon build before your eyes, it is amazing. It is as if the potential ideas within each tool are calling to you to simply let go and believe that your own creativity will be enough. 

There is also a certain level of anxiety about new supplies, and the first day of school. Will I fit in, will people like me, will I be able to make my hand do what my brain is thinking? What if I do not get it? What if I totally ruin it all and make a big, sloppy mess? What if no one likes my work and I spent all this money to end up a big, fat failure? It is as if puberty has locked itself in its room, and that room is the space between my ears. The highs and lows are tremendous, terrifying, and terrific all at the same time. 

At some point in life we all feel this way. The excitement and anxiety of doing something new. We’ve gotten so used to doing things we know, understand, and are experienced doing that the thought of moving into the unknown is both thrilling and terrifying at the same time. New means stepping out of your comfort zone and into the realm of possibilities. It means dancing with failure and trying and then failing and trying again. It means learning new things, practicing, and gaining muscle memory while trying to be yourself and make new friends. Whew! That is a lot of random emotions pouring out of a box of pencils!

I will keep you posted on how it goes. I will share my adventures, my lessons learned, and maybe not too many of my failures. I would challenge you to dive into a new, creative expereince as well. Whether it is a workshop, a course, a program or skill, go out there and learn something new. Make it up as you go along and have fun exploring the ideas in your head…have teh courage to release the you stuck inside that box of pencils. The world is waiting for your imagination to show itself!

