We all have a job to do like this busy bee. His job is to pollinate, pollinate, pollinate. Day in, day out his job is to pollinate in order to keep all the plants growing and healthy. I watched his busy activities while walking through one of my favorite nurseries. He paid me no attention, in fact no one and nothing seemed to disrupt his focus on getting the job done. When he was done with this flower, he flew to the one next to it and began again. What a busy bee. 

Bees live pretty basic lives. They have only a few things to be concerned about, and that is what they focus on each and every day. They do their job to the best of their ability, utilizing their instincts and plow right into each day with a simple few thoughts in mind. They work, they work some more then they work again, to simply end the day with more work. I’m not sure they even need to focus as they only have one job. And with only one job, it is easy to focus. 
There are times when I feel more focused than others. I have many jobs to do, many things to get done each day, many things to think about in order for our world to work. All sorts of things get in my head and some take over even when I want to focus on something else. That may be one of the pitfalls of having many interesting things to do and thoughtful things to think. It may be the pitfall of a busy life and many irons in the fire. It may be the pitfall of doing too much with too little time. It may simply be a pitfall of humanity…or some combination of all of those things. Whatever it is, I sometimes find it hard to focus. I know what I want to do, when I want to do it, and yet too many things sometimes get in the way of getting that simple task done. 

I need to take a lesson from this busy bee. He knows what he has to do, and that is what he does. He doesn’t worry about pleasing others who may pass by. He may not even notice them…he simply gets the job done. He does not wonder if it is the right thing to do, or if that is his purpose in life, he simply gets the job done. He doesn’t plan too far ahead nor complain when the weather is bad. He works, he lives, he works some more. I am not advocating a life filled with only work. I am extolling the virtues of singlemindedness.  I am thinking about how to simplify my world so that I can focus on the task at hand and get the job done. Too much expected with too little to work with leads to frustration and disappointment. Too many conflicting priorities leads to scattered thinking and forgetful moments. Today I will work on getting one job done at a time until the important things are completed…then rest, and start again tomorrow. One day at a time, one flower at a time…I can do that. 

