I stayed in a hotel in Munich, Germany called Moxy. When I arrived the hotel lobby looked like a scene from the movie animal house. People were partying pretty hard, the music was so loud the staff had to shout to talk to you, and there was a couple making out on the sofa. To check in, you stood at the bar. When they messed up my reservation, they were shocked that I did not want a drink from the bar as compensation. 

This is the only art work that was in my sparce hotel room. It also served as the place to hang your clothes. Once I got inside my room and saw this ‘artwork’ it was pretty clear that I was not their target audience. I booked the room through our corporate travel agency, with no clue what I would find. I slept with the televsion pretty loud to drown out the party noises along the hallway. I felt like the one kid in college who actually wanted to study while everyone else was having fun. I was too old for this hotel, too much of a tired traveler, and too far from home to make a change. 

As I tried to relax in bed and absorb this art, I was ok with not being the target audience. I like my life, who I am, what I do. If I am the kid who really wants to study while everyone else parties, so be it. At my age and place in life I know what I want and what I don’t. I think that is a good thing. Not everyone gets it, and I don’t always understnad what they want. So we have different demographics, different needs, wants, things that are important to us. I wanted to sleep, the other guests wanted a wild party. I got some sleep, and they got to party. Needless to say I will not be staying in that hotel brand again. 

The real funny part was the next morning. At five o’clock we all had to take the shuttle back to the airport. I may not have been bright and sunny at that hour, but I wasn’t hung over and a sorry shade of green. The party from the previous evening may have been fun, but it looked on their faces like it was a painful memory.

It’s good to know what you want and what you don’t. It’s good to know who you are and what is important to you. It is also good to know when you have grown up and want something more than you did in your earlier years. Maybe what I really learned is that I have moxy, I just don’t want to stay at another Moxy hotel…

