It’s carnival time, which means fun and games, lights and food, festivities and crowds of people. I drove by this one on my way home and was intrigued. As I passed by in such a hurry to get home, I realized I was missing all the fun. I rolled down my window and could hear the music, noises and especially the screams of fear and delight. It sounded like fun, and I was the dull one sitting in traffic.

Most of us spend the majority of our time working at work, working to build a home and family, working to make ends meet, working to save for a vacation, working to build a life. Working is an admirable thing. Work is waht gets things done. Work is waht pays for our lives and helps change the world. Work means we are adding value to the lives of the people around us, and we are being productive. But all work and no play make Jack a dull boy.

Life calls us to have fun, enjoy ourselves and learn to savor the moment….sometimes we miss that because we are working. Passing this carnival brought that lesson home for me this week. There is a time for work and a time for play. Too many of us forget the play because we are trapped or pressured by work. We are so focused on our goals that we forget to unwind and be a kid again. Magical things happen when we give ourselves and our minds time to have fun. We gain clarity, energy, perspective and become refreshed…and that means we can approach our work with new life and hope. 

So I am going to have some fun. I don’t know when or how, but I am going to spend time enjoying myself doing something involving colors, lights, food or maybe even crowds…I encourage you to do the same. The work will be there when you get done having fun. 

