A Rusty Perspective

Random junk in a field. Pieces of bigger things that no one wants. As I was walking through the field I saw this miscellaneous grouping. A whole lot of nothing that at one time or another meant something. Over time what was worthwhile was left to deteriorate into a whole lot of nothing. 

That might be what you see, and yet I know others who would see beautiful rusted items perfect for reusing in some creative way. They would cherish the years of rust and grime that they could use without having to wait for time to take it’s toll. Do you have any idea how long it takes for a piece of metal to rust this badly? Do you realize that some people wait years to be able to craft art out of rusted junk? 

I must admit that if you had asked me about what I see, until recently I would have said worn out junk. I would have seen stuff someone else was too lazy to put into a trash can. Or I might have described it as leftovers from a broken down car. What changed my mind was when I saw a piece of jewelry where pearls surrounded a rusted washer, and it was amazing! The artist had leveraged the color of the rust to bring out the solemn beauty of the single pearl. 

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. The value of an item is found in the one wanting the item. Old, rusted and left behind may mean worthless to you…and yet to others it means color, authentic and amazing. It’s all in how you look at it. It’s all about your perspective. 

One thought on “A Rusty Perspective

What do you think - write your thoughts here!

