When I was a kid it was a real treat when my Dad made breakfast. He would always make silver dollar pancakes. They were the same recipe as regular pancakes, but they were the size of silver dollars, or a little bigger. We had so much fun eating a dozen pancakes. We felt like giants and grown ups eating so much. I remember anxiously waiting as each batch came out of the skillet, then fighting with my older brothers to see who got them first. It wasn’t until I was much older making my own pancakes that I realized why Dad always made silver dollars pancakes…they were the perfect size to flip without making a mess. That size guaranteed they would cook perfectly every time, and he could amaze and astounded us with his ability flip them in the air and onto our plate. 

This morning my husband made gluten free pancakes. As we are both working to stay gluten free, pancakes are a luxury we both love and yet regularly avoid. Here you can see the first batch, silver dollarish sized of course. Once I added the syrup and took my first bite, I was seven years old again in my pajamas cramming as many pancakes in my mouth as I could digest. They were yummy, amazing, and a treat we both devoured. He used Pillsbury brand pancake mix and it was fabulous. Now we have the perfect alternative when we crave pancakes on a weekend morning. 

What memory do you have about being a kid when it comes to breakfast? What about when you would wear your pajamas all morning and watch cartoons or play with toys, or eat pancakes? Life was simpler then. The biggest decision of the day was whether or not to put butter on the pancakes before or after the syrup. Not much of a decision, and yet at age seven it was a big deal. Make a point very soon to have a silver dollar pancake morning…and of course you must eat them while still wearing your pajamas. 

