I have fallen prey to the blinking ‘working symbol’ and have been found wanting. I have not been able to use technology for 24 hours and it has been painful. My iPad has a virus, error, bug…whatever you want to call it, it didn’t work. So I sat in silence and waited. As of my writing this post, I am still technology challenged…not cured. 

This has made me reflect on how dependent we have become on technology. How it has become intertwined in our lives, and how helpless we can feel without it. Someone asked me the other day for a phone number, I was dumbstruck…I could not think of the number off the top of my head. I had to look it up. I realized I was more dependent than I had thought. 

Gulp…is this a good thing or a bad thing? Is technology a help or a crutch? One minor challenge as the world can come crumbling down. And yet I don’t want to go back to hand writing checks and carrying an address book. Maybe the answer it to be aware of when and how we use technology AND not let it replace personal interactions. 

I think I am going to go talk to someone in person AND send a letter, then read an actual book…

