We have people around us all the time – at work, at home, out amongst the world. People are everywhere, and that is a good thing. Tonight I am alone. The people in my life are either at their house or out of town. So I have my home all to myself. Alone time is nice. It is a chance to listen to the sounds of my home, the solitude of the quiet, the thoughts inside my head that get drowned out by busyness. It is time to slow down or speed up, whichever is preferred. 

Some people have a hard time with silence. They can’t handle it. They turn on the tv or radio or have their head buried in an electronic device to avoid dealing with silence. Silence forces us to face things that noise allows us to ignore. Silence brings reality to a halt and allows peace to infiltrate our soul. Silence is a blessing and a curse…it all depends upon what thought is swirling around your head. 

I enjoy the opportunity to have silence. It clams me down and allows me to think clearly. Being alone and in silence is the perfect chance to ponder next steps and to do items. Alone time also means you can stay up past your bedtime with no explanation required…if you want. Or go to bed early…if you want. Alone means you get to choose everything and anything. Alone time means you are alone with you and can do anything you want…so choose wisely!

