Inspiration: Conscious Action to Muscle Memory

These are those packets that make my skin crawl…dental cleaning tools. These were waiting for me when I arrived to have my teeth cleaned. I have never been one to enjoy the dentist, no fault of the dentist’s; it’s just the gritty toothpaste they use to clean your teeth and all that metal scraping…even now describing it gives me the willies! I am glad to say my appointment went well, no cavities and no areas for concern. I am blessed to still have all my own teeth, and I hope to have them for decades to come. 

That’s the real rub in all this…take care of your teeth or they will fall out. I was taught at a very early age to brush my teeth. Even as an adult I do it most of the time without thinking. When I am feeling rebellious, I don’t brush my teeth (some rebel I am !?!) In the end, I brush them regularly and am blessed to be able to do it. It has become a habit. It is a good habit and one I am glad my parents instilled it in me in my youth. 

What habits do you have that someone instilled in you early in your life? Have you ever thought how different your life would be if they had NOT trained you to do that thing? Where would you be now? What would the quality of your life be now without that habit? It takes 21 days to develop a habit. Twenty-one consist days of performing an activity for it to become just the way you do things. Twenty-one days for it to convert from conscious action to muscle memory.

Over the next twenty-one days see if you can develop a new habit. One that will make you even better than who you are today. If you don’t want a new habit, find someone that needs some encouragement and cheer them on. By the time this month is over you can be well on your way to better and more consistent you…twenty-one days or bust. Oh yeah, and be sure to brush your teeth before you go to bed. 

What do you think - write your thoughts here!

