Sometimes we have friends who we enjoy spending time with simply because they are low maintenance. You can hang out and be yourself. Hanging out might mean being in the same place and enjoying that place together in your own way. Here you see Artie & Buschi doing just that, enjoying each other and their ‘domain’. We often find them outside together romping around the yard and being together yet still being themselves. 

I have friends like this and am blessed to be able to be the real me when we are together. I don’t have to entertain them, I don’t have to put on a brave face when I am down, and I don’t have to worry about whether or not I will be accepted as myself. Our friendship has progressed past entertainment and moved into real life. And their presence in my life brings me into a whole new realm of reality that brings peace and joy to my soul. Being happy with myself allows me to be happy with what they bring to my world. 

There is a point in life where friendship brings acceptance. Accepting all the bumps, warts, frailties, triumphs and special elements that makes each of us unique. It means accepting the highs with the lows, the good with the bad, the triumphs and the failures…accepting it all no matter what. It doesn’t mean it is easy. And it doesn’t mean it will be simple. It means you agree to see it all and are a friend anyway. We overlook the flaws of those we love because we love them. Let’s face it, no one is perfect, so expecting people to be perfect will only bring disappointment. Loving friends means being a friend all long this crazy journey called life. I means just being together and allowing that to be enough. 

