Inspiration: Appreciate the Gift


One of our cats left this gift for us on our driveway…a dead mouse. We live in a rural area and we have three indoor/outdoor cats. We are never surprised when we find dead critters. In fact, that is what we want. By hunting these little buggers our kitties are basically earning their keep and ensuring that our house is mouse free. I’m okay with that arrangement, in our world it confirms the circle of life. 

All that being said, neither my husband nor I want to be the one to clean up the lovely gift…this is when rock, paper, scissors comes in handy….I lost. This gift ended up in the woods in front of our house. I’m sure some animal will enjoy the snack. And maybe it will serve as a warning to other rodents to stay away from our house, or risk a quick trip to mouse heaven. 

If you are like me, you have received all sorts of gifts in your life. Gifts you were excited to receive, gifts you were surprised to open, and then there are those that leave you speechless. The ones you open and have no idea why someone would even think you would want this item. It’s those gift moments where you lose your ability to process words or thoughts. “What do I say?” “How do I react without leaving the person disappointed?” “What do I do with this thing?” Or the ever dreaded, “I’m not sure I even know what this is…gulp!” We’ve all had these moments, and sadly may also have been the creator of these awkward gift moments for someone else. The best words that can come to mind are simple, just say Thank You. 

It is important to realize that the gift may be for you, however it may not be about you. For some people gift giving is their way of saying ‘I love you’. It is their way of saying ‘ Thank You’ and showing appreciation. It may be their way of sharing their excitement over something they made, and they wanted to give it to you. It is their way of letting you know that you are important to them and they want to express it through a gift. That may mean you end up with a dead mouse every so often on your driveway. It may be gross and a little creepy, yet you need to appreciate the gift. The giver went out of their way to bring you something that made them think of you…which again, may be a dead rodent. So as you pass through your month, be gracious and understand that receiving means you have to let someone else give…simply appreciate the gift and say Thank You.

4 thoughts on “Inspiration: Appreciate the Gift

  1. I’ve been browsing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all site owners and bloggers
    made good content as you did, the net will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  2. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and it
    is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I desire
    to suggest you some interesting things or advice. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this
    article. I wish to read more things about it!

What do you think - write your thoughts here!

