This car was parked at the building in Florida where I worked this week. The office was not near the beach, yet this person was obviously planning to go to the beach very soon. I love that idea. This car reminded me that if you really want to do something you will find a way to get it done. No matter how strange it might look to the people around you, do what it takes to do what you want to do. 

As I walked away I then thought about the things I want to do and yet always seem to find an excuse to not do them. I can either justify being too tired, too stressed, or too busy. These are the little lies we tell ourselves to make our poor decisions palatable. We give ourselves a “buy” because we bought the lie. The truth is we are not motivated enough to actually DO those things so we make up excuses to feel better about not trying. If we did do these things, then we might actually have to change something to KEEP doing them…then we would have to change long term. So somewhere between procrastination and inner lying we avoid the conflict brought about by change. Maybe I am the only one who struggles with this one…

What lies do you tell yourself in order to avoid change? And how long have you been telling yourself those lies? Is it possible that you have been lying to yourself for so long that now the lie is truly your reality? Do you even know when you are lying to yourself? Have you gone deaf to the truth? Today I would ask you to face reality, put your passion out there – like a surf board on a car rack…and just get moving. Even if you have a long drive to the beach, once you get in the waves it will all have been worthwhile. 

