This art installation appears at Logan Internatioanl airport in Boston. It was created from thousands of buttons that different people created from photographs and had collected over the years. I was intrigued by the different contributions people included. 

As I stopped and stared, I had to think of all the parties, events, political campagns, birthday celebrations and classroom elections that were documented in all these buttons. How many people had worn these buttons, takled about the buttons, saved the buttons. All the smiles, tears, joy and life events that were experienced while someone was wearing one of these buttons. And what about the time it took to make them all? I thought it was a great way to catalog the many intricacies of life. 

How do you catalog your life? Where are all the events of your years stored – yearbooks, photos, slides, movies, videos, Facebook – or in the memories of those involved in your life? I hope you have people in your world who want to share how you have impacted their world. And yet photos and lots of pictures are not the real things people remember…

I read a great quote from Maya Angelou, “I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” My challenge to you today is to make sure that you create memories for people not only through photos that get posted to the intranet, but by how you made them feel.

