Kintsugi.jpg

Kintsugi is the Japanese art of repairing broken pottery with gold. The brokennes becomes its beauty, making the object even more precious than it was prior to being broken. It might seem counter intuitive to invest in a broken piece by adding gold, and yet without the cracks the pottery would be just another piece of pottery. 

I was sent this picture many weeks ago, and didn’t know what to write, until I heard the song lyrics below that put it all together…the song is by Peter Mayer:

I’m like one of those Japanese bowls, that were made long ago
I have some cracks… in me, they have been filled with gold

That’s what they used back then, when they had a bowl to mend
It did not hide the cracks, it made them shine instead.

So now every old scar shows , from every time I broke
Anyone’s eyes can see, I’m not what I used to be
But in a collectors eyes, all of these jagged lines 
Make me more beautiful, worth a much higher price

I’m like one of those Japanese bowlsI was made long ago
I have some cracks you can see
See how they shine…of Gold

We all have cracks, scars, and flaws…do you see yours as mistakes or opportunities to shine? Why not turn off the old tapes in your head that remind you of your mistakes and instead see them as the gifts that made you who you are today. Hooray for the broken sides and cracked edges, they are what make you a true one of a kind piece of art!

