Water is a powerful force;  it brings life, it causes death, it wipes things clean and wipes them out. It is small, sleek and able to change the course of objects much larger than itself. Friday evening I discovered water pouring down from the ceiling of our gallery. There was between one and two inches of wetness moving quickly across the space. It had spread into our studios and wood working shop and the mess was growing, until we turned off the water to the house. Ugh – that’s not what I said when I found it!!! But now I have perspective.

I am thankful for insurance. I know a great deal of artists who do not have insurance for their art or their workspaces because they cannot afford it. So we are fortunate. I was able to start the claim process and call a vendor who came within two hours and started the clean up process. In total we have 21 fans and 5 industrial dehumidifiers working to dry out all the spaces impacted by the water.

Only a couple of paintings were damaged from a framing perspective. They will need to be reframed later, and insurance will probably cover it. Kevin lost four new books he created, so those will not be able to be replaced. Tables and furniture got wet, but we were able to wipe of the water quickly enough so only a little touch up will be needed. I’m sure there will be other casualties, but we can’t see all that yet. The walls and floors will need some work, so once the fans and dehumidifier leave we will be able to tell how much work we will have to clean it all up.

The real challenge is Dad and I are getting ready for shows, so our work has been interrupted. I took what I could up to our living room and have camped out on a small drafting table – working one mat at a time while hiding from all the fan noise. The weather here is getting warmer, so Dad will be able to move outside this afternoon to sand and keep his projects moving. I just hope we are able to get done what we planned before it’s time to sell at shows.

No one died, no one is bleeding and we will be able to repair or clean it all up. I suppose that means that our Spring cleaning this year will take on an entirely new menaing…yipes! C’mon Spring! So this week when you drink a glass of water, be thankful for its many attributes and check the status of your insurance policy…we have water, water everywhere and not a drop to drink!

