We all know the old saying, “If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again.” Well, that is what I will have to do for the Southern Highland Craft Guild. I received the notification letter that my application was not accepted into the Guild – rats, gnats, bats! Yes, it was disappointing. Yes, it was frustrating – no feedback, only a standard ‘ding’ letter. And yes, it made me ponder a bit about my art and where it is going, why I am doing it, blah, blah, blah! However all that was only temporary.

This art game is not a sprint, it is a marathon. And not just a 26.1 mile version, this is a life journey. And as we all know, that journey called life has many twists and turns and bumps. I have had time to ponder this rejection, and the Japanese have a wonderful proverb:

Fall down seven times, stand up eight!

Not only does it remind us that we have to keep getting up, it reminds us that we will fall down multiple times. Time and time again we will stumble and be disappointed with the results. Life is loaded with hurt, and frustration and pain, we can’t avoid that. We will always be knocked down by someone or something, and then WE choose how it will impact our future. Just keep standing back up. Get off your fanny and DO something. God can’t use a car in park; the vehicle has to be in drive to get anywhere. You have to do something… so I did.

Today I applied for two more shows – Atlanta Dogwood Festival, and Artisphere which will be held in Greenville, South Carolina. Both made the Sunshine magazine top 50 shows in the U.S. I submitted my applications this afternoon and won’t be notified of my application status until later this fall. THAT was my homage to the Japanese, get back up and stand tall…

