10 Days…Framing it All With Character

Sometimes I am not sure people understand what it takes to create a piece of art that hangs on the wall. Not only do you have the actual work of art – inspiration, conception, design, implementation, and execution –  you have the finishing work, which is the framing. I have seen more art that is ‘ruint’ by bad or inappropriate framing – mismatched framing, poorly chosen frame size or proportion, or even the wrong color frame –  I talk about this because a large portion of my inventory in framed…which means someone has to do all that framing.

My peeps, my crew, my team, my number one supporters, my family. That is the amazing group of someones who help me by framing my art. As I mentioned in an earlier post, I take on the nasty task of cleaning the plexi glass ( which means stripping off the EXTREMELY sticky backing, on both sides, then getting it debris free and clean) my peeps do the rest. And ‘the rest’ includes cutting the backing, cleaning the frame pieces, putting it all inside the frame, nailing the work/glass/back to the frame, covering the back with brown paper, connecting framing wire, and then attaching my business card to the back. Whew! Like I said, a lot of work. And if people like the art, they will never pay attention to the back…until they move or they move the artwork.

Why go to so much trouble for the back of a piece of art? I could talk here for a few minutes about professionalism and taking yourself and your art seriously. I could talk about treating your art like a business and seeing the job to completion. I could talk about giving a customer a quality piece both front and back…blah, blah, blah. What really drives me to this is one thing – my parents and Kevin’s raised us to do a job well. To see it through, all the way through. To take it from beginning to end – and do it well. “If a job is worth doing, it is worth doing right.” That’s the voice in my head, the voice of my parents telling me from an early age that quality of work matters, not just what people see. So even now, for my first show when time and work load can be a bit terrifying, my parents, my husband and I – we all practice what we preach! We spend beautiful Spring days indoors framing art so that the job is done right, because indeed it is worth doing right!

So here’s to the people behind the art – literally – who make it beautiful to hang on the wall, who spend sunny days behind work benches hanging and framing and living what they believe. Here is to my family who love me enough to invest in my art, my future, my dreams. I finished a piece this evening that utilized this quote:

        Character is what we do when no one is looking

Thank you to you all for framing it all with character. I love you more than art or words can express!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What do you think - write your thoughts here!

